RSS

❥ That Dreaded To Do List

23 Mar

Ivalice Prefect

< Insert ridiculously long and obnoxious yawn here. >

It would quickly be followed by the massaging feeling of my fingers gently kneeding at the back of my neck and the absurdly blank gaze staring into the white abyss that was the start of this blog post. C’mon, caffeine. Kick in.  I know your Crystal Light (read: Crystal Crack) Energy delicious and citrusness can do it!

I really appreciate the attention everyone has been lending this blog.  When I started it, I wasn’t really sure what was going to happen.  I went at it, trying to revitalize the blogging community.  My goal was to put the meat back into blog posts.  I know myself, and several others, have expressed annoyance at bloggers who consider their entire blog post a list of what they’re wearing and an edited picture to go with it.  When it boils down to it, to each their own.  But to me, that’s not what blogging is about.

As a blogger, its your responsibility to entertain and inform.  A picture and a list doesn’t accomplish this.  Adding just a little bit of provided information on why you chose something, what inspired you, and even occasionally a real life experience can really add a splash of color to your blogging pallet, if you catch my drift.

And what goes along with this better than anything? Quality over quantity. Blogging shouldn’t be about trying to impress designers and blog ALL THE THINGS at once.  It shouldn’t be about trying to get free things from designers either.  If you want to blog, you should be prepared to do it out of your own pocket.  Which is why I’m taking a small step back.

The biggest thing I care about when it comes to blogging is the quality of my posts.  The meat, the outfit, the style.  I want it all to mean something, to be worthwhile.   If designers were to offer me free things in order to get me to blog it I’d probably turn them down.  I want to support them, and their products.  If I like them, I’ll be buying them. If I adore them, they’ll be blogged.

However, right now, I’m not sure my SL wallet can handle frequent blog posts.  So I’m slowing down.  I have a lot on my plate right now. In fact, I feel as if I have a landslide of things to do and in true Ingkeu fashion, I’ve managed to overwhelm myself all over again.

Its why I’m writing this post.  A LOT of you keep up with me on flickr, and you’ve seen some of what I’ve been doing.  Did you know that in one 32 hour period I designed an entire sim from the ground up without any sleep? Yeah, that was the start of the Saruma Academy sim, I’ve been working on it hard core ever since.  Still, even through all the hard work there is a LOT of work to be done.  I still have to do the following:

  • a.) Make applications for students and visitors.
  • b.) Work with Sei to configure the “Sorting Hat” item. ( Won’t actually be a hat, but will function like one. )
  • c.) Write the rules for the sim.
  • d.) Write the lore and back story for the sim.
  • e.) Finish setting up the dorms.
  • f.) Finish figuring out what to do with empty space and prim management.
  • g.) Find Prefects for the remaining houses.
  • h.) Find people willing to teach classes.
  • i.) Find people who want to role play as teachers.

April also marks the start of the Fantasy Faire, which Sei and I (from c( Two Cats ) & {Lemon Tea}) have been accepted and will have our own set up there.  As a designer, its my first big event and OH MAN what an event to start with.  I am so flattered that c( Two Cats ) is going to be a part of Fantasy Faire, but I’ve also barely been able to begin on my special products for it.  This is something I need to start working on.  Over the next few weeks I’m probably going to be dedicated to this project until I have something I can bring to the faire and be proud of.  Until then, everything else is being put on hold or is only being worked on in the background.  For those of you who are excited about Saruma Academy, I understand, and I apologize for the wait.  I can promise you though, that it will be worth it.

Last but not least, my Husband and I are at that point in finances where I need to start working again as a designer in Second Life for real life funds.  My store takes priority over everything at this point.  If you want to help me out, or help me bridge over into other projects, the most you can do is purchase my products. I will not accept donations, so please, do not ask to donate. I’m a hard working person and I would rather my hard work pay off then someone handing me what I haven’t earned.

At this point, this is where my real life and my Second Life stand.  Both are in need of a little attention, so I do apologize if my blog posts slow down a touch.  Just please note that I am not stopping by any chance.  It just so happened that when I started blogging I found a new hobby, one I didn’t think I’d love as much as I do.  So have no fear. I’m not going any where.  Its just time for a nice little business break. :3

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
